Nice. A little more transparency never hurt anybody! The Windows 10 May 2020 Update is officially in the house, and it comes as no surprise that a lot of people want to make the jump.
However, this latest release is being rolled out in stages, as usual.
This, in order to allow Microsoft to gather telemetry in order to see if this release is compatible for all that want to give it a try. It also allows the company to find bugs in the early phases so that it can prevent them from causing havoc on a large number of computers.
Long story short, Redmond has put several blocks in place, meaning that out of the users that manually check for the update in Windows Update, only some are offered this new version of Windows 10.
At the same time, the software titan has also made changes to the update system, and now lets you know if your system is currently not compatible with the May 2020 Update.
This is the message you get if the update is blocked on your system:
“The Windows 10 May 2020 Update is on its way. We’re offering this update to compatible devices, but your device isn’t quite ready for it. Once your device is ready, you’ll see the update available on this page. There’s nothing you need to do at this time.”
Furthermore, it also ensures that users don’t circumvent the block using an ISO that may cause system instability because of unsupported hardware.
Earlier, it was hard to know if a particular system had been blocked, since Windows Update used to show a “You’re up to date” message. This was about as vague as it got, as this made it hard to tell whether the latest feature update was not being offered to you.
Of course, there are other ways to install the May 2020 Update if you really want to.
Then again, if Microsoft is preventing your device from getting it at a particular moment in time, it’s because you could eventually come across bugs that may cause stability, usability, or performance issues if you upgrade.
All of these will be taken care of in due time, obviously.
But in the meantime, it’s good to know that Microsoft now notifies you of the fact.